Sometime, someday!

Okaaaaay…


… so … you mean I am doing something right? … so … what is it exactly that I am doing right? Tell me so I can continue doing that!

Actually! I failed the total-vegan try-out! Well, not failed perhaps, I got some AHAs and I realized several things during that week. Yeah! I gave up after one week… 😦

The “bad” things first!
I did not lose any weight at all. Everyone that starts going vegan, seems to lose weight already during the first week. At least a couple of pounds

Each day I got more and more frustrated. I got bored since I felt I ate the same thing all the time. No variations! No surprises!
At the same time as I stuffed myself with good carbs, since I was hungry way all the time, my stomach felt like I was at least 10 months pregnant. I also felt like I only ate beans. Beans, beans and beans! Cooking several times a day – and beans…
So! Hungry all the time, ate and ate, felt totally stuffed! BEANS! Not fun at all. Boring

Well! Not quite true! I ate fruit and vegetables too. Salads and rice and lentil soups. But it felt like I only ate beans and bread. And I normally likes beans and eat lots of them! Almost everyday!

Everything was so dry! Nothing was creamy or soft. The food was tasteless, despite the fact I  seasoned it quite well.

I missed the eggs, but most of all I missed the butter. Yeah! I admit! I missed the butter very much! And I missed the bean burgers I used to do. With an egg in the batter, fried in butter… they are sooooo delicious!

The positive about this week, was that I fully realized I already used to eat quite well! Maybe a little bit too much, but healthy food to at least 95%.  I never eat cheese at all, and haven’t done so for many years – nor any other dairy product. Exceptions from that latter are really rare and comes in very small doses. I only occasionally eat meat, poultry or fish, and then in not particularly large portions. I do eat a lot of fruit, veggies, tubors and such and also nuts and seeds. I avoid processed product, never white refined sugar. I sweeten my cakes and cookies with for example a banana, dates or other kind of fruits and berries.

So on the whole, I didn’t eat bad at all! I don’t! Except, I have eggs as staple food. And I use butter. And that was more or less the issue! Would be easy to let that go as well and learn a bit of new cooking I thought… wouldn’t it? HA! Little did I know!

White Bean Burgers

Forbidding versus allowing
The worst about this week was probably that I had forbidden myself to eat eggs and use butter. And the key word here is forbid! That made me keep on thinking about what I wasn’t allowed! Not to be able to fry food the way I was used to. I missed the taste of fried food, and it is NOT the same as when frying without fat! Neither in feeling nor in taste!

Of course there is food that doesn’t need any fat! I don’t need oil in my salads, nor when I bake bread just to mention a few examples. But on the whole, I realized I have to allow myself to eat what I want, and then choose not to! I can say to myself: “I can eat it whenever I want, but not now. I am the one who’s in charge here. No one else!”
I can allow myself to have a window open to eat whatever I want, even grilled sausages and pommes frites if I choose to! And then I don’t have to think about it!

But – at least for the time being, I’ll try to cut down on eggs and and use less butter. And learn more about how to cook vegan.

Food sensitivity
There are some issues though, that I can’t do anything about! Gluten, wheat, rye, barley! I can’t eat that. I become ill! And I am at present time testing if I can eat oats again, but sadly! It seems that I can’t! 😦
Therefore I’m also quite limited when it comes to vegan cooking. So many of you seems to lean on wheat! Bread, pizza, pasta, cakes…
Okay! There are alternatives! But they are so much much more expensive, and they don’t satisfy the hunger equally well. So! There it is!

When it comes to fruits and vegetables, there are some limitations. We can’t grow everything here, so things like avocados, peaches, nectarines, bananas, pineapples, et cetera, has to be imported. Many of these are also seasonal – and expensive. Bananas, oranges and apples are mostly okay. BUT! And the most awkward stupid thing – Swedish apples aren’t less expensive then imported ones! Sometimes they are, in the autumn! Yes! But that seems to be some kind of “drive”, to make people came and shop also other items. And let’s not talk about organic options. Bananas! YES! Even organic are “huge” here in Sweden, and affordable!

Avocados is not only expensive (mostly), the worst thing is they are also very unpredictable. Since they, as bananas, have to ripen on there way to us, they often comes here not thoroughly ripe. And even when bought ripe from the store, they may be too ripe, more or less black inside or with roots. Who wants to eat that?! And it doesn’t show on the outside! So I’ve stopped buying avocados though I really like perfectly ripen ones. But it’s too much of a chance. Why would I threw my money away on inedible food!
But I can find frozen, diced avocados … not unexpencive – but I don’t have to throw anything away.

So! To be honest! Money issues, and the fact that I can’t eat everything without being more or less ill, makes me have to choose my own way in this. Still let myself have the opportunity to sometimes eat meat, poultry or fish – in small amounts and rarely – cut down on eggs and butter as much as I can – and learn more about how to cook vegan so it will be easier for me to find alternatives to my diet.

Because I still think whole-grain vegan eating is the best thing to do. Both for the environment and for us people. Considering some personal differences in what we can and cannot eat, and what benefits us the most. We just have to find our own heathy way.

Thank you for commenting!

