I contemplate

For several days now, I have written this post – in my mind. AND as a couple of drafts. AND every time the post never stops! Words, words, words! Now I’ll try once more, let it be what it will be!!

Total vegan for one week now, well! – and a half… How has it been? How is it going?

The first days I felt energised. I walked and biked a bit more intense than usual for a couple of days, tried to weed between the stones on my patio – and then I crushed. I had overdone the exercising thing. But I think that weeding my tiny garden was the great fall. My back and around the hip got really, really stiff. Feels like big knots all over me. If a back can be uptight – then my back is!

However, that has nothing to do with eating vegan food, has it? And I couldn’t help but thinking – was that increased energy a mere coincidence? I have had bad days and good days before!

On the whole, I still consider eating vegan is a good thing to do, but there are some “buts” for me.

I have not lost any weight this week. Probably due to the fact I was almost-vegan from begin with. I can’t eat dairy-products without a protesting stomach so cheese and such, I haven’t had for years. I do get a lot of fruit and veggies, get the fibers I need, and when possible I choose organic. I’m used to, and love, to eat beans, lentils, green peas et cetera. Occasionally and rarely, I eat some meat or fish. I avoid eating processed food and never touch white refined sugar. Rarely, really rarely, I buy some cookie or have a piece of ordinary chocolate that is sugary, and I always think it’s way too sweet, but since I can’t eat wheat or anything at all with gluten, those occasions seldom occurs. I bake my own bread, cakes and cookies.

So what I had to do, was mainly to cut down on fat in general, skip butter and oils, and skip the eggs. I realized I eat too many eggs, and add too much fat in my cooking and baking. Also for the fat-reason I thought I had to cut down on nuts and seeds I also need to flearn mora how to cook the vegan way.

Total vegan is good, but here are some “buts” for me.

Since I can’t eat wheat or anything else with gluten, and vegans seem to eat quite a lot of wheat in different ways, I’m quite constrained by this. There are alternatives, but they don’t behave the same way as wheat when you cook and bake. And they are expensive!!! Many of the alternatives are really, really expensive compared to wheat!!! And Ibe a little limited economically as well. You see, if the alternative choices cost from twice to ten times more than the wheat (or even more sometimes), you just can’t stuff yourself with bread, pizza, pasta et cetera.

The cost of ordinary rice and maize/corn is reasonable, thank goodness. And now I won’t go into what kind of fruits and vegetables are available here, and what they cost. I’m tempted, but… Let’s just say, we can’t pick ripe avocados, pineapples, or mangos from the trees. Just to name a few.

So I ate as well as possible. Lots of veggies, tubers, rice and fruit. However, I soon got the feeling I stuffed myself with too much bread etc, though I actually didn’t. My stomach felt more than filled with that and not in a pleasant way. It was like a constant bread-taste in the mouth. After some time I was also bored to death with almost only eating beans for protein. Beans! Beans! Beans! I love beans, but not two-three times a day – every day!

I missed the eggs, but not even half as much as I missed being able to fry something in butter for dinner. One day I made bean-burgers in the oven. They were, honestly speaking, totally awful! I normally have one or two eggs in the batter, and then fry them in butter in an ordinary frying-pan. And they always taste really delicious!

I also got freaked out on having to cut down on the nuts and seeds. I got a bit… eh… paranoic (not the exact word I sought, but…), my mind twirled around with “did I add too many cashews in the salad now” and such… had difficulty to let that go.

Despite the fact I stuffed my stomach with volumes of valuable food – I got hungry quite soon after a meal. I kind of felt full and hungry at the same time! And it seemed like I cooked more! I didn’t want THAT to happen! I don’t like to spend that much time in front of the stove, and I hate the amount of dirty dishes it produces. Pots and pans, plates and spoons… ick! Icky-ick! (One reason why I like the idea of Raw Food. And I like salads)

The nice thing about this trial of mine, is that I realized (re-realized) that I actually eat healthy already. I admit I could reduce the amount of fat I use, and the number of eggs I eat, but I don’t have to leave them out of my diet totally! And I shouldn’t BOTHER about almonds and cashews and pumpkinseeds and sunflower seeds… Bothering and worrying about stuff is the worst thing one can do. That, can really hurt your health.

Yes! I’m going back to where I were. Almost vegan. After all, I have no diabetes, heart-issues or anything like that. I’m a little bit overweight – but not obese. On the whole, I’m healthy and don’t eat any medications. No drugs! (Did I mention I don’t smoke nor drink alcohol either?)

But if you are ill in someway, if you depend on daily doses of medicine to “stay on your own legs”, you really should consider going totally vegan. Maybe start with a juicing period? Or would it be easier to go slowly?

Check out the movie “Fat, sick and nearly dead” on Netflix. And there are others there on this topic. Really insightful ones!

The stiff muscles? I’m working on that issue.

 

Comments are disabled.

