Day three

We have had a lovely day today, especially from morning till a couple of hours along the afternoon. Sunny and a very blue sky. Then it slowly started to be cloudy. Unfortunately it was blowing, but that didn’t stop me from putting myself on the bike and made quite a nice tour for 2 hours. Despite the time period it wasn’t a particularly long tour, it ended on 16 kilometers, but I had walked for 1,6 and only been sitting on a bench for like 5 minutes or so. Or maybe 10. And I took quite a lot of photos.

This was the longest tour I have made this year. Not the most kilometers I’ve made in the same day, but as one single tour.
I felt stronger, and it was somehow easier to bike today, than it has been since… I don’t know when. Since too long, anyway.

No protesting muscles anywhere, and no feelings afterwards like if my legs would give up under me, and no extreme tiredness. Back, hips, ass and legs felt almost as the old me, when I biked like 30 to 40 km and just felt good about it. So even if 16 km isn’t what I would call a long tour – not according to my preferences – it’s still a victory that I have come this far now.

After lunch I got tired though, but it felt only like a normal, healthy tiredness. Can this lovely and sudden enhancement in strength and endurance be due to this diet? Probably too early to draw any assured conclusions, but I think I easily could bet on that – and win.

Usually – and mostly – I have salad for lunch. Today after my 2 hours in the woods, I didn’t feel like cutting and dicing a lot of veggies. I wanted something warm and gooey. Something comforting and easy to cook. Decided to make myself a bowl of kitchari. Simply speaking – Ayurvedic (Indian) risotto!

I cheated, often do that when I make kitchari. I cook basmati rice with the same amount of red lentils (should be mung dal), and I spiced it with yellow curry mix, instead of grounding this, and that, and that. But I added some extra turmeric and ginger. One can use any vegetable one likes to this – or none – but I added 2 small potatoes cut in pieces. Lazy cook today…

Then it just has to cook in water (of course!) until really well done, soft and gooey. And don’t forget some salt in the end.
So! Warm, comforting and simple to cook!

Then, I placed myself on the sofa for a while, and later in the afternoon I spent time on the patio reading.

As I said! A very lovely day!

And here: A Kitchari-recipe from ayurveda.com
Comments are disabled.

