Chili, tomato & coconut soup

And red lentils of course…

OKAY!
So at last I seem to wake up again from my… whatever…. and started to cook a little more proper again!
And the first course I post here is a RED LENTILSOUP!!!!! Am I crazy or am I crazy? Haven’t I made enough red lentil soups already????

OMG!!!!!!!!  And oh gosh….
But admit they are really tasty and full-filling, and so easy to cook! I think I’ll never get tired of red lentilsoups!

You can take any amount of ingredients as you wish.
1/2 to 1 deciliter unboiled dried red lentils per servings, which you thoroughly rinse under streaming water, while you at the same time let a kettle of water heat up until boiling.

Then you gently fry some butter with chopped garlic, finely sliced onion and some red curry paste, add a squeeze of tomato paste, stir for a while until the butter takes a dark orange color from the tomato paste and the curry paste, then add the lentils and boiling water.

Let this cook until soft, and if necessary add more water.

I always use these cubes of concentrated broth for seasoning, but you can use any kind of all-spice or plain salt as you wish. I’m not too fond of herbs in my soups – well maybe sometimes depending on the soup – but if you like it! Use it!

But! Mostly I add vegetables in my soups! This time I added broccoli, chopped pieces from the stem actually, red bell pepper and small plum tomatoes. At the end I also added some fresh baby spinach and some quinoa I had cooked the day before.

And yes of course! A big dash of creamy coconut milk, and a smaller dash of fresh lemon juice. Taste the soup to be salty, spicy and tangy enough – and then enjoy!

So a little bit more effort I did put into cooking this soup, after all. 😉

chilitomato

 

Comments are disabled.

